Organic Baby Purees

Cooking is not my forte. I don’t think any member of my family will argue with that. Sometimes I find something on Pinterest that looks mouth-watering good and I’ll close out the recipe as quickly as it popped up just because there are too many ingredients. Yes, I seriously do that. No exaggeration. (Feel free to email those five ingredient recipes my way!)

When I decided to take on making Opal’s solid baby foods, I wasn’t sure how long it would last. I looked at a few “recipes” on other blogs, although making baby food just seemed like common sense to me. And it is . . . . .

Step 1 // Buy organic fruits and vegetables.

Step 2 // Wash, peel, and cut the fruits and vegetables.

IMG_2914

Step 3 // If making baby fruit, skip to Step 4. If not, throw your veggies in a steamer pot and steam until tender. (Usually about 10 to 15 minutes, depending on the thickness of the vegetable.)

IMG_2922

Step 4 // After your veggies are nice and tender, let them cool slightly, then dump them into your food processor. If you are making fruit, just dump it into your food processor.

Step 5 // Turn on food processor. While the food processor is . . . well . . . processing, add a small amount of water (about 1/4 cup at a time) until you reach your desired consistency. I find I need to add more water to foods like sweet potatoes and carrots, and no water to zucchini or squash.

IMG_2923

I would like to take a few moments to mention that our long time food processor, pictured in this post, is no longer with us after losing a battle with a batch of sweet potatoes one evening. Even though I had to hold your lid on or else you would not run and you began to leave big chunks of vegetables spinning around in the lid while shredding, thank you for being there during all my kitchen fiascoes and believing in my cooking abilities. May you rest in peace.

IMG_2925

Step 6 // Place spoonfuls of puree into ice cub trays and slide them into the freezer for a few hours.

Step 7 // Once frozen, twist your trays, pop the food cubes into a plastic bag, and label.

IMG_2936

Step 8 // When breakfast, lunch, or dinner, are nearing, pull the desired number of cubes out of the freezer and warm in a saucepan on your stove top. Get crazy with it and mix some flavors together. Banana, sweet potato, and prunes are a hit in our house!

IMG_3241

Step 9 // Feed baby.

IMG_2938

Leave a Reply

