Who Sleeps Across The Hall // A Hotel Story

10:48 am: It’s Day 10 in the hotel room and I have run out of things to do. The baby is sleeping. I have exercised. I am showered and fully dressed. I have spun around in the office chair several times . . . . . then I hear a knock across the hall.

Tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap, tap . . . . .

All the while the Indian (I think she is Indian. I could be wrong.) housekeeper is repeating, “housekeepinghousekeepinghousekeepinghousekeeping” (no pauses).

The door opens and I run to our peep-hole curious about our neighbors. The door is shut by the time I get there. Darn.

I have yet to actually see our across the hall neighbors. From the voices, I gather it is a man and a woman. I haven’t bumped into them in the hall. Have we seen them at breakfast? Have we passed them coming through the automatic sliding door at the entrance? Were they the people waiting on me to finish pumping my coffee at the coffee cart yesterday? I don’t know. They checked into the hotel at the end of last week and have not removed the “Do Not Disturb” door hanger from their door knob since. So why is the Indian housekeeper knocking repeatedly on their door every day to inquire about servicing the room when the “Do Not Disturb” door hanger is clearly displayed?Odd.

I return to my chair pondering what their story could be. Are they here on business? Vacation? Then again someone opened the door, so why are they here to sit in a hotel room all day? Hummmm.

Knockknockknock. “Maintenance.” Knockknockknock. “Maintenance.”

Maintenance! Why do they need maintenance?! I say to myself, eyebrow raised.

I return to the peep-hole. No luck. I have the view of a large man with dark hair wearing a maintenance uniform. He lets himself in. They left! Must have been while I was cleaning our muddy Vibrams in the shower.

On with my day. Waiting. Listening.

3:00 pm: There is another cleaning cart sitting outside of the open door. Huh. It is a little late for general servicing. Two younger guys enter the room this time. One emerges making a remark about how dirty the bathroom is. Gasp! Did they check out? Where did they go? I can’t quite make out the room details due to the distortion of the peep-hole, but it looks void of personal belongings.

3:22 pm: There is no sign of the cleaning cart and the “Do Not Disturb” door hanger has been removed from the door knob. Oh well. I guess our mystery neighbors will forever remain, a mystery.

Leave a Reply

