A Letter To Baby

Fall Walk

Fall Walk #2

Dear Baby “O” or Baby “J”,

Charlotte and I took a walk around the property last week. It was a sunny, 66 degree November day, and I am determined to keep you strong and healthy, so we walked. Over the course of two miles, and in between lots of breaks, (to wait on Charlotte, of course), I couldn’t stop thinking about you. I couldn’t stop thinking about your tiny baby fingers and toes, how much I just might miss your tiny kicks in my tummy, and the fact that we only had 10 weeks until your smitten Mommy and Daddy get to meet you. I thought about how next year at this time, we will be seeing the world through your eyes as you gaze upon it from your baby sling.

I hope you like the outdoors and sleep well in the car. I hope you like to camp and are not picky about eating your vegetables. As you grow older, my hope is that you are a fearless explorer with the biggest of imaginations.

For we have big adventures planned for you.

I hope you don’t mind that our home is small or that our bathroom towels will never match. I hope you don’t mind that we don’t have new clothes and drive old cars. Because to give you the gift of time, of love, and of adventure, we have made a life without long hours, without stress, and without material things.

Instead, I promise to shower you with kisses daily. I promise that Daddy will always be there to tuck you in at night. I promise to show you the act of love and how to be a good person. I promise to teach you everything I know, and let Daddy handle the rest. I promise to show you the world. I promise to let you be wild and free.

I promise to let you bloom into whoever you want to be.

Now we only have nine weeks left. We are busy getting your nursery ready, finding you the perfect teddy bear, and soaking in these last few weeks feeling you learn and grow. Take your time. Come when you are ready. We will be anxiously waiting right here to welcome you into the world.

I love you.

Love, Mommy

2 thoughts on “A Letter To Baby

Leave a Reply

