Life As Of Late

The move from the city to Blowing Rock is finally over. Yippie! Boy, does it feel good to be home! Back to the mountains, back to the trees, back to fresh air, and back to normal. Well, almost. Reminiscing on what life was like last fall: weekly 5 mile+ hikes, ciders on the back porch, and tons of campfires and marshmallows, this fallΒ has definitely taken a hard left. So far, it has been all house projects, too much cleaning for my liking, naps, and a baby countdown. Not that I’m complaining. Life is just different these days.

So here is what is new on the Taylor Homestead:

Projects // The housing projects are all coming together at a remarkable rate. I have tons of pictures to share, so I’ll save that for another blog post and not ruin the surprises here.

Baby // I am officially 27 weeks today! Baby Taylor is growing like a weed and the size of my belly is proof. (Or maybe it’s all the banana pudding that I can’t seem to stay out of.) I have been lovingΒ laying in bed a few extra minutes in the mornings after everyone else has made their way to the coffee pot just so I can feel all the tiny baby kicks. Unfortunately, I have been dealing with the dreaded insomnia a few nights a week. But on the bright side, I get to take longer naps!

Pugs // One part of my heart has been missing from our new home, and that is our little Charlie man. For those that don’t know, he passed away at the end of August. I just haven’t had the heart to talk about it yet, and as a matter of fact, I’m choking up as I type this. Our little guy had been battling a brain tumor for a couple of years and it finally took its toll. He died peacefully in his sleep and we actually drove all the way to Boone the following day to bury him on a short trail he loved to roam. It just so happens, we are actually living in walking distance to our sweet little guy. We think and talk about him often, especially when we are out picking apples, one of his favorites. He was such a great companion to us for almost 13 years, and we are so grateful to be his pug “mommy” and “daddy.” Little Charlotte is doing wonderfully, believe it or not. She misses her Charlie chair and her night time snuggle partner, but has otherwise turned into a rambunctious attention hound. She can’t go a minute without sitting on your lap, and will now scratch the heck out of your hand if you are ignoring her and she is in the mood for a belly scratch. The spoiled princess is basking in being an only child at the moment, so we are anxious to see how she reacts to the new baby.

Reading // I am currently reading The Happiest Baby on the Block by Harvey Karp, M.D. We are working on the five “S’s” and perfecting our swaddling technique. (Quite the change from last year’s 50 Shades of Grey series.)

Workouts // I’m starting today. That’s all I’m saying about that.

Travel // We have absolutely nothing on our calendar, which is totally out of character for us. I know. We are really striving to get a lot of projects crossed off of our list by Christmas, so it’s just not in the cards right now. I do often daydream about traveling with Baby Taylor and showing him or her the world. Although I’m sure these trips will never go as planned, I’m giddy nonetheless.

Marriage // I am so thankful that I married such a hard working, self-motivated man. This entire process has been very trying and exhausting and I find myself sitting in the floor almost in tears quite regularly due to the overwhelmingness of it all. And hormones. We can’t forget the pregnancy hormones. His patience and understanding has been far beyond his call of duty sometimes. What else can I say? I just love that man of mine. ❀

Happy Monday!!!

xo

Leave a Reply

