May // June // July

My word! I cannot believe I have not posted anything on my blog in over a month. If you are still following me, bless you.

Well, we have obviously had a lot of change to adjust to over the past two months. There is so much to catch up on, I’ll just start wayyyyyy back at the beginning. Here goes.

The Story Of: The Bun in the Oven

Bun in the Oven

(Disclaimer: I didn’t actually buy any of that ice cream.)

As you may recall, we took a quick camping trip to Knoxville (which you can read about here and here) around the middle of May. While in Knoxville, I was just feeling weird. I can’t describe it. I was just not myself. Okay. Rewind a bit further here. We had decided about a month before this trip that we might possibly, just maybe, be ready for a baby Taylor. So to answer everyone’s question; yes, this was planned. Gasp! Back in Knoxville, we stopped in CVS for the proper equipment and I peed on a stick in the woods. Yes, I did. That’s just how outdoorsy people roll. My suspicions were correct, we had hit a speed baby bump (Ha! Ha!), both lines turned blue. We returned to Damascus with our little secret, but knew we probably needed to start looking for other living arrangements, as communal housing was probably not going to work for us any longer. I was doing a great job hiding the growing secret until week #5. That is when I grabbed my pillow and took up permanent residency on the bathroom floor. Holy moly! I had 24 hour a day nausea and could not force any food down my throat other than macaroni and cheese. Which is a real bummer for someone who likes to eat as much as me. At this point I began to question why on earth women get knocked up. I was miserable! Around week #8, I started feeling somewhat like a human again. I wasn’t sleeping 20 hours a day anymore and I could eat almost any meat other then chicken breasts. Which still makes me gag. Bleh! We decided to surprise our family, especially my mother with the Mother’s Day gift she has always wanted, so we drove down for a week long family visit for the big announcement. Awwwwwww. We are excitedly awaiting the arrival of Baby “O” or Baby “J” mid-January 2015! In the meantime, I promise not to take any progress belly shots and post them all over the place. That’s not my thing.

The Story Of: My Dad Passing

As we were returning home from visiting our family, I received a phone call with the news I knew would come one day, but broke my heart to pieces. My daddy had passed away at the hospital earlier that morning. We quickly turned the car around to face the hardest thing I have had to endure so far in my 30 years on this earth. I am so grateful that I had just spent the previous two days in his company, laughing and enjoying just one last time with him. I miss him more than words can even express. (Thank you to everyone that posted encouraging and kind words on our Facebook page! Although I didn’t have the strength to respond to each and every one of your comments at the time, they did not go unread or unappreciated!)

The Story Of: Moving to Greensboro

Eden House 1

Eden House 2

Eden House 3

Welcome to the suburbs of Greensboro, North Carolina! Why in the world did we pick Greensboro? I’ll just start by saying, it was not my first, or even tenth choice, but I’ll explain. So, as we were looking for a place to make a nest, The Mr.’s father invited him to come and work for him in the construction industry, which is a great opportunity for us to bump up the bank account. So here we are. At least until Baby “O” or Baby “J” comes out. Then we are outta here. I’m not quite sure if I like it here just yet. We haven’t had time to get out and explore what the city has to offer. But I’m trying to remain optimistic and looking forward to new adventures in the city (as sweat is rolling down my forehead). At least we do have a pretty kick a** house.

The Story Of: What We Are Up To These Days

The boxes are almost all unpacked. We are back to routine as normal. And we have plenty of upcoming trips on our calendar. We don’t plan to slow down any, well, at least until I’m about to pop and moving in slow-mo. After the arrival of Baby “O” or Baby “J” in January, we intend to start planning our next move and continue on with our free spirited life of wanderlust on the road. This kid has no idea what it is in for! 🙂

As for me, I am so thankful to be feeling 99% normal. I am back to eating Paleo, participating in a Crossfit Moms program four times a week, and still getting adjusted to my ever changing body and those weird maternity stretchy pants. Do/Did any other mom’s out there feel like a frump in maternity clothes? Shorty me is just not accustomed to wearing long shirts.

As for The Mr., he is working out of town this week, so he will have to give you his side of the story another day. 🙂

(This post was originally published on our sticks or stones blog, which is no longer in publication.)

Leave a Reply

