Pumpkin Pie Spice

I know this is totally the wrong season to whip up a batch of spices used in pumpkin pie, but if you eat paleo pumpkin pancakes on as many Saturday mornings as we do, you need it and need it often. I’ve never actually used ‘pumpkin pie spice’ in my pancake batter, per say. Rather I would just shake a dash of this and give it a pinch of that and hope for the best. After realizing that I couldn’t remember what I used the last time or the time before, I broke down and made a jar of my very own:

Pumpkin Pie Spice

What You Need:
~ 3 tbsp. ground cinnamon
~ 2 tsp. ground ginger
~ 2 tsp. nutmeg
~ 1 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
~ 1 1/2 tsp. ground cloves

How to Make It:
Combine all the above ingredients in a small jar and shake, shake, shake. Shake, shake, shake. Shake your . . . okay, you can see where I’m going with this.

Take Notes:
There are a gazillion other pumpkin pie spice recipes out there, but this one is heavy on the cinnamon, so it’s a keeper for me.

pie spice

(This post was originally published on our sticks or stones blog, which is no longer in publication.)

Leave a Reply

