Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

bananas 1

Whoa! I said to myself as I walked by the kitchen table and spotted these three dying bananas. Determined not to waste food, I needed a recipe and pronto! I had no time to spare. These bananas probably didn’t have another hour left in them. I pulled up my favorite paleo food site, PaleOMG, and OMG, Juli had posted a recipe that very morning for Banana Nut Chocolate Chip Muffins. It was banana karma. I didn’t have some of the ingredients she used, so I put my own twist on her recipe, which turned out finger licking marvelous.

Banana Chocolate Chip Muffins

What You Need:
~ 3 bananas, mashed

bananas 2

(Look who awoke from his slumber when I started mashing bananas.)

~ 3 eggs, whisked
~ 1/4 cup maple syrup
~ 1 tsp. vanilla
~ 1/2 cup sunflower seed butter
~ 1/4 cup coconut flour
~ 1/4 tsp. cinnamon
~ 1/2 tsp. baking soda
~ 1/2 tsp. baking powder
~ pinch of salt
~ 1/2 cup enjoy life chocolate chips

How to Make It:
Preheat your oven to 350Β°. Mash bananas in a large bowl. Add your eggs, maple syrup, sunbutter, and vanilla, mixing well. Then add the coconut flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Again, mix well. Fold in your chocolate chips. Pour batter into silicone muffin cups or whatever you have. (My batch made 9 muffins.) Pop these babies in the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

Muffins in.

bananas 3

Muffins out.

bananas 4

(This post was originally published on our sticks or stones blog, which is no longer in publication.)

Leave a Reply

