Chili Lime Roasted Almonds

Happy Fall Y’all! Okay. Even though I’m a born and raised North Carolinian, that is probably the third time in my life I have ever uttered the word ‘y’all.’ I’m not even sure if I spelled that right. Is there an apostrophe? I don’t use it, so I don’t know these things.

Fall is my absolute favorite season, especially here in the mountains. The leaves have already started to change and I have already dug through our seasonal storage totes rummaging for my boots and sweaters. It also marks the season for all things pumpkin, AND our trip to Colorado! Yay!

This weekend we stayed home and did nothing exciting. The Mr. and I both have a long list of things we have to take care of before our trip this coming weekend, so we updated iPhones, rotated tires, made phone calls, changed wiper blades, had a budget discussion, cleaned, cooked, listened to the Panther’s game, double checked our travel arrangements (Good thing too! I found a cheaper hotel rate.), planned workout e-mails for when I’m away, and cleaned out kitchen cabinets. Throw a couple of naps in there too.

Speaking of cleaning out kitchen cabinets, I found a bag of plain, raw, un-salted almonds hiding in the back. Ick. I always buy these with good intentions of being a good little paleo eater, but never eat them because they have no flavor. They actually taste quite bad. I absolutely hate throwing out food, so I found this recipe to jazz them up a bit. I modified it as to what I had on hand and I didn’t measure anything, so I’m just guessing what I used.

Chili Lime Roasted Almonds

What You Need:
~ 3 cups raw almonds
~ 3 tbsp. raw honey
~ 1 egg white
~ 2 tsp. grated lime zest
~ 1 heaping tsp. chili powder
~ 2 tsp. salt
~ juice of 1/2 a lime

How to Make It:
Preheat your oven to 350Β°. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. In a large bowl, whisk together the honey, egg white, and lime zest. Pour in almonds and toss to coat. Sprinkle with chili powder and salt. Toss again. Spread the almond mixture onto the baking sheet. Bake until golden brown, about 10 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle with lime juice. Grab a hand full and pop them into your mouth.

Verdict:
No more icky plain almonds! These rock!

Chili Lime Roasted Almonds

(This post was originally published on our sticks or stones blog, which is no longer in publication.)

Leave a Reply

